Safeguarding Notice

Harwood Park Primary School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people. We expect all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.

If you have any concerns regarding the safeguarding of any of our pupils please contact one of our Designated Safeguarding Leads: Mrs Davies or Miss Webb.

For more information please see the safeguarding section of our website under Key Information > Safeguarding.

School Logo

Harwood Park Primary School

Aspire To Succeed

Get in touch


This page is about the computing curriculum within school. For information about how to keep your child safe online, please see our dedicated Online Safety page.


A high quality computing education equips pupils to use computational thinking and creativity to understand and change the world.’
Computing programme of study, DfE, 2013


Our computing curriculum has been designed with the above aims in mind as well as taking into account the high level of mobility in our school. We currently offer a curriculum where the units taught have been carefully sequenced, providing children with the chance to revisit, repeat and build on key concepts and ideas.

At Harwood Park, we aim to foster children’s curiosity and fascination with technology so that this thirst for knowledge remains with them for the rest of their lives. Cultural capital allows children to accumulate the knowledge, behaviours and skills a person can utilise throughout their lives. We aim to give children as many opportunities as possible to experience, explore and explain the wide variety of technology in the world in order for them to become informed and thoughtful members of the digital community.


There are three main aspects of the computing curriculum at Harwood Park: computer science (CS), information technology (IT) and digital literacy (DL). At the core of computing is computer science, in which pupils are taught the principles of information and computation. Building on this knowledge and understanding, pupils are equipped to use information technology to create programs, systems and a range of multimedia content. Our curriculum also ensures that pupils become digitally literate – able to use, and express themselves through, information and communication technology – at a level where they can become active participants in a digital world.


Our Computing curriculum is made up of four strands: Essential Skills, Computer Science, Information Technology and Digital Literacy.

➢ Essential Skills - ensure the children have the core basic skills to use multiple devices, this is designed to promote independence

➢ Computer Science - underlines the knowledge and skills relating to computational thinking, coding, algorithms, and networks.

➢ Information Technology - underlines the knowledge and skills relating to digital communication, creating multimedia content and data representation/handling

➢ Digital Literacy - underlines the knowledge and skills relating to online safety and technology in society